• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Non resident open carry?

I am a MA resident and have a LTC-A with no restrictions. Can I open carry in NH while hiking before I get my non-resident concealed carry permit?

Yes, no license neccesary for you to open carry a pistol in NH.

As someone always adds -- make sure you unload and make either the ammo or the gun not readily accessible before getting into a car. Loaded carry in a vehicle is considered concealed and requires the carry license.

Last edited:
As someone always adds -- make sure you unload and make either the ammo or the gun not readily accessible before getting into a car. Loaded carry in a vehicle is considered concealed and requires the carry license.

Thank you, I forgot about that. You cannot have your pistol loaded inside the vehicle until you get your non-res.

Yes and no.

Yes, you need a concealed carry license to carry a loaded gun in a vehicle, but loaded carry in a vehicle is not "considered concealed." These are two entirely different points that appear in the same RSA as an artifact of the way they were enacted, not because they are thought to be linked.

N H State Police FAQ

I would like to bring my handgun into New Hampshire, yet I don’t have a license to carry concealed. How may I carry?

You may carry unloaded in your vehicle. Be sure that the ammunition is separate from the gun.
You may carry loaded on your person. The weapon needs to be fully exposed. For example, it may not be concealed by a shirt or a jacket, or located in a backpack.
You may carry unloaded and concealed on your person, so long as you do not possess any ammunition on your person.
Please refer to RSA 159 for additional information.

Yes and no.