NJ needs COBOL programmers...

allen-1

NES Member
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
This is pretty funny/sad. I graduated from college in 1981. While I was there I took COBOL I and COBOL II. Some of the college's administrative systems were written in COBOL, and I helped maintain/enhance them. Even then, I was being told that COBOL was obsolete - but I knew that large companies all over the world had systems written in it - and there's very little ROI in rewriting existing systems. It's expensive and hard to justify.

Since then, I've worked at a couple jobs where I've had to dig out my notes on JCL and COBOL to keep a "legacy" system running - and I've found that few of my peers/co-workers know anything at all about it. Most know just enough to keep the daily show running - as long as there aren't any "weird" issues.

This isn't a shock - but it's a chance to earn some potentially serious money -

Footnote - COBOL is an acronym for COmmon Business Oriented Language.

DarkNet

NES Life Member
NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Started programming in COBOL over fifty years ago.Haven't had a need in the last thirty years.

CrackPot

NES Member
Rating - 100%
55   0   0
COBOL was the only language you could use at the insurance company I worked at in the early 80s to access the magnetic tapes that stored lots of data I needed. I only learned enough to spool it off the tapes and into a format I could then use to parse in the thoroughly modern language of APL.

Neither the ability to use COBOL or APL did me much good past that summer job at Aetna.

That anyone has any system still running that requires COBOL is criminal. I can't begin to imaging how it survived Y2K. The hardware it is running on likely has not been supported in 40 years either which means they have been paying maintenance or other costs that would have paid to upgrade the system 10 times over.

But I am sure NJ had better places to spend their money

67ray

NES Member
Rating - 100%
189   0   0