• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

NH Turkey 2019: Posted land

The spot I've been hunting for about 6 years is suddenly posted. UGH. No clue where to relocate on short notice (3 weeks scout minus youth weekend.)

May end up slumming it along the powerlines someplace nearby. Not familiar with many of the local fields and I prefer not to hunt private without permission (even if not posted...bad experiences.)

Anyone else seeing their usual spots posted suddenly? I'm guessing winter snowmobile use in mine...had seen lots of signs in the area about staying on trails.

You've hunted there 6 years. Have you asked the owner who posted it for permission?

It used to be posted “open” with signs and a list of what the owner wanted and didnt (mostly snowmobile regs) but this year the entire area has huge black spraypainted “keep out” signs and a fellow hunter said the landowner came tearing down a road and confronted him with a gun when he was scouting and didnt realize he was on the property. Dont think I want to locate or engage this guy...seems unstable.

I post my land. I tear ass down the road with a suppressed AR on my ATV if I see somebody walking in to hunt. If somebody calls or stops to ask if they can hunt I generally let people hunt as long as they don’t seem retarded. You should ask the land owner, you may find out he just got tired of somebody else’s bullshit. In my case I make people text me the night before they want to hunt, I text approved or denied.

Last edited:
I'll never understand the "posting". All the land belongs to the town and we pay rent (taxes) to live there. How can you post land that you don't own? Jack.