• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

NFA noob...still confused

Hi All,

I'm a total noob when it comes to NFA stuff so forgive me. If I wanted to turn one of my already built and registered AR15 lowers into a SBR, do I just do the needful using a Form 1 and wait for approvals to come back? Once approved, do I need to have anything engraved on the lower that I registered into an SBR (I have no trust)? Once approved, in theory i can buy a complete upper and just slap it on the lower that was "SBR'd?" Are there any issues with using this SBR registered lower on a non SBR upper...16" upper....i.e. can I swap the lower between the two uppers with no issues?

Hi All,

I'm a total noob when it comes to NFA stuff so forgive me. If I wanted to turn one of my already built and registered AR15 lowers into a SBR, do I just do the needful using a Form 1 and wait for approvals to come back? Once approved, do I need to have anything engraved on the lower that I registered into an SBR (I have no trust)? Once approved, in theory i can buy a complete upper and just slap it on the lower that was "SBR'd?" Are there any issues with using this SBR registered lower on a non SBR upper...16" upper....i.e. can I swap the lower between the two uppers with no issues?

This is non-MA advice. I have no insights into the pecularities of MA law WRT NFA items.

If I wanted to turn one of my already built and registered AR15 lowers into a SBR, do I just do the needful using a Form 1 and wait for approvals to come back?