• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Newbie trying to decide on first purchase

Before I say anything else, I am new to this whole world of firearms, so please be gentle if I make any mistakes. I have done some research both online and through some books from the library.

Some background: I have applied for my class A in Waltham, so I will be getting a target and hunting restriction. Therefore, my first purchase is not likely to be something I'd carry concealed, unless I go out of state to NH with a non-res permit. I want a .22 because I'd also like to get a rifle a bit later on and I'd like to keep it easy and affordable. Ideally I'd like to keep the price around $300 for my first buy (and I'd be perfectly okay with a used gun).

My dad suggests I get a revolver. After hearing in the pistol class I took a couple of weeks ago that revolvers are easier to take care of (and more reliable after years of non-use), I'm inclined to agree. If I did go the revolver route, it looked the Taurus model 94 or the Taurus model pt22 or pt25 look good. However, the Ruger I handled in class was very comfortable for me. And now that I have experience with loading it and how to handle a misfire, I'm wondering if I should just go with the Mark III. My next choice would be a Sig Mosquito.

Since the Ruger is the gun I've shot most recently (and actually the only one I've shot out of all the guns I've listed here), I obviously have no idea how I'd like the other ones, so I'll be going off your suggestions.

Any feedback on which way I should go - revolver or semi? And any feedback on any of the Taurus models I mentioned? And how about a Mossberg International 702 Plinkster for a rifle?
I appreciate any feedback you're willing to give.

Last edited:
First off, congratulations!