• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Newbie here

Hey guys,
Names Nick, 25 y/o and from Peabody, MA. Complete noob to the hobby so please spare my ignorance.

Just getting into this hobby now after going to a couple of gun ranges and very eager to learn. Will be taking the firearm safety course soon and applying (need some help here which to tackle first)
1) I know Peabody is extremely difficult to get a class A LTC but I have no idea how strict they are with Class B... basically I don't want to give them $100 and be denied so I'm not sure which I should apply for first.
2) I have a very nice discount at Ruger and was wondering what the better pistols where to buy. I might have a generous discount at SigSauer as well but haven't asked yet lol I would love to have my own pistol rather than rent at the range.

If anyone could point me to some helpful literature if you don't want to type it out, that would be awesome. I search and read but find a lot of information confusing and doesnt answer my questions directly.

From what i hear Peabody will probably give you a Class A with restrictions. Apply for the Class A "All Lawful Purposes" and see how it goes. Your instructor should cover MA licensing in the safety course during the MA Law section.

Hello there! I'm 24 and also from Peabody, perhaps we know each other.

Anyways I applied for my LTC last year when I was 23. I applied for a Class A and supplied a letter explaining why I wanted an A (this is a requirement in their packet) and also detailing why I wanted no restrictions. A few days after dropping the packet off I received a call from the licensing officer Det. Crane. He was very professional and polite but firmly stated that I would be receiving a license with restrictions because "that just how we do things here.."