• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

New Troy sights shooting low - adjustment maxed out

I need some advice on the sights below, which I can't get to zero for elevation:

http://www.amazon.com/Troy-Industri...qid=1425838145&sr=8-3&keywords=troy+hk+sights

Shooting about 2-3 inches low at 25 yds (so about 8 MOA). Problem is that the front sight seems to be maxed out in the direction I need to turn it (clockwise). Any one had any similar issues with Troy sights?

I guess it's possible that I may not be aligning the sight picture correctly as I've never used these HK style sights before, but other than that I'm puzzled. Already took out the front sight post to make sure threads were clean and clear of junk.

Did you by any chance put a gas-block height sight on a quad rail?

Not sure to be honest. It is mounted on my quad rail, but I'm not sure if it's a gas block height style sight. Can't seem to find any conclusive info on it.

Those are the micro sights, lower height than standard. For rifles with a raised rail, front and rear.

Need a pic of your rifle with installed sights to see whats going on.

Last edited:
Is that hand-guard rail the same height as the upper receiver rail?

Yes, same height as upper receiver rail. This is mounted on a piston driven HK (MR 556 model), and the front hand guard is secured by some cutouts in the upper receiver and one bolt on the underside. Slides right off for cleaning/maintenance of the piston, pusher rod, etc.

Not sure to be honest. It is mounted on my quad rail, but I'm not sure if it's a gas block height style sight. Can't seem to find any conclusive info on it.

The micro sights are for raised top rails, is that what you have?

Edit: sounds like you do if it's an MR556.

The micro sights are for raised top rails, is that what you have?

Edit: sounds like you do if it's an MR556.

Yes, raised top rail.