• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

New to High Power Competition, Just what do I need?

The suject says it all.

I've got two guns that I'm sure qualify, a FedOrd M14 and an AR clone.

I've got a spotting scope, and personal protection (plugs and glasses).

Ammo is a non issue for me.

I shot in my first match last year. I showed up with pretty much with what you've got listed there. My spotting scope was pretty crappy and I had a leather work glove. The person shooting my position in the first relay offered to let me use his mat while I shot the second relay.

The gear I've accumulated since that match:
shooting glove
mat
shooting coat
better scope & stand
cart - this was the last thing I got & it's helped moving stuff on & off the line allot.

I'm still learning.

Things NEEDED by everybody: a rifle capable of being loaded with a magazine or stripper clip (M14, AR15, M1, bolt gun), ammo (58 or 88 rds min.), ear and eye protection, open-chamber flag, and a pen to write with. Anything else guys?
Things DESIREABLE for a new guy: a mat or scrap of carpet to lay on, elbow pads if you don't have a jacket, spotting scope or binoculars, clipboard, WATER, proper sling, work/ski glove for the non-trigger hand. Anything else??
Things you will end up with eventually if you stick with Highpower: High-dollar shooting coat, high-dollar spotting scope and stand, shooting stool with wheel kit, and about 100 other assorted doo-dads that you will find make your life easier.
I am sure there are some other essential things I am forgetting right now. Others will chime in, I'm sure. :D

I don't shoot High Power, this explanation comes from the high end of small bore competition I was involved with years ago.