• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

New to Handguns- Revolver Recommendations please!

Hooper

NES Member
Good Evening -

Waiting on my LTC which is giving me some great time to learn. This forum is a wealth of knowledge but I have a few questions about revolvers for beginners I hope you can help with.

I am new to shooting handguns. I do eventually plan to carry, (don't expect a problem with the unrestricted Class A LTC as I live in a bright green town), but before I ever think about holstering a weapon, I need and want to become an experienced shooter. I know I want a double action revolver and since I live only a town over from Springfield MA it has to be a Smith & Wesson. Need to support the hometown folks!

As a beginner, I want to find the best revolver that will be the easiest to develop accuracy skills with at the range. I understand the J frame 38s, especially snub noses, are difficult to gain good accuracy as a beginner, especially at 50', and even though that is probably what I would eventually carry I don't know if that's the best place to start. I don't mind buying a first gun to learn on if indeed that's the case and then getting the snubbie later when I am ready to carry. Budget isn't a factor, getting the right gun is.

I have sort of small hands for a guy and have slightly arthritic fingers so weight and kick could be an issue. What do you think? I would love some recommendations for specific models!

Thanks so much for taking the time to help out someone who's just getting started!

Best,

Hooper

Small revolvers have small handles, but they also don't weigh anything, so recoil, even with regular pressure .38s it'll beat up your hands. They're no fun to shoot, and really hard to learn to shoot *well*.