New hunter with own land

Left the Communistwealth for Live Free or Die!
Hey folks. I am new to deer hunting, but have really been doing my homework over the past year. I have a few dozen acres up north in Maine with a pond in an open field and a dense swamp. I have had trail cams up for a couple months now and know there is great activity at the pond (which is surrounded by falling acorns, clover and high grass I did not cut for a sheltered bedding area. It has become kind of a deer oasis).

I have noticed on the days I am there they do not come around. I am assuming they know I am there by my scent and activity at the cabin.

My question is this. I am heading up there this weekend with the intention of placing a ladder stand up so I can hunt the following Thur-Fri-Sat. Does anyone think placing the stand there only a week in advance will scare off the bucks? If so, what would you do? How would you hunt this land or how far away from the pond would you place the stand assuming I could get at least 100yds or more away and still have a clear rifle shot.

Advice much appreciated.

A week advance for getting your stand is good to go. Have you plotted the number of deer and the times at each camera? That should give you an idea on the movement patterns and what times they are moving.

A week advance for getting your stand is good to go. Have you plotted the number of deer and the times at each camera? That should give you an idea on the movement patterns and what times they are moving.

Good question. The simple answer is the does show up at all hours and inconsistently, both day and night and most days of the week. It's almost like home for them. There are so many trails in i don't have a camera for them all.