• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

New here

New to amateur radio & happy to be here - passed tech and general last week and now call sign KB1UYB. It was one of my "Someday" list items since college. Finally made it 20yrs later ...

Right now getting my feet wet running on 2m with a Yaesu 8900 in my truck. Please take it easy on me if you hear me out there [grin]

-Tim
KB1UYB

Nice to have you here. It's almost been a year since I got my call sign...and I'm still a newb. There's guy here that are newer than I and are already light years ahead of me.

We'll have to find out where there's a middle ground and see if we can get another NES group talk.

New to amateur radio & happy to be here - passed tech and general last week and now call sign KB1UYB. It was one of my "Someday" list items since college. Finally made it 20yrs later ...

Right now getting my feet wet running on 2m with a Yaesu 8900 in my truck. Please take it easy on me if you hear me out there [grin]

-Tim
KB1UYB

Congrats on getting your ticket.
A buddy of mine has the 8900, too bad that quad band antenna is so darn expensive.
He was having a QSO with us on 440 and accidently hit the wrong button and QSY'd.
It took him 10 minutes to figure out how to get back to where he was. [laugh]
Don't even bother with the 10 meter side, without sideband it's next to useless.
That radio would be MUCH better if they had stuck 220 in there instead of 10.

Welcome aboard!