• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

New 1911 in MA?

I am saving up for a new 1911 in MA and have a few questions.

1. Is there any new 1911s that can be purchased in MA shops other than S&W or auto ord?

2. do all S&W 1911s have that GIANT SW1911 on the slide?

3. Does anyone know where I can get a new Rock Island Armory 1911 (.45)through a dealer in MA?

1: You may find some that were brought into this state by someone moving here. That will be tough to find though. Are you dead set on brand new?

2: No, the newer ones have smaller markings on the left side of the slide.

3: See answer 1

after reading the thread about what to look for in a used 1911, I would prefer new. I have been shooting for a few years now but am no where near qualified to disassemble and thoroughly inspect a 1911 and from what that thread says; it seems there are a lot of things to look for that could possibly make the 1911 a lemon. I'd rather not buy something that billy bob tinkered around with.

The just get a S&W, they make a ton of models and have good customer service. I have a lightweight commander that I bought used and have put a tons of rounds though with no issues.

Hardcore 1911 followers hate the external extractor, some of the ways some of the parts are made (MIM), and some other issues, but for first 1911 at a reasonable price, I think you'll be pleased with a Smith.

Don't forget about Colts that may be MA compliants. I bought a real nice Series 80 from Al at Tackle Unlimted in Brockton and he often has several 1911 Gold Cups for sale.

Last edited:
I am saving up for a new 1911 in MA and have a few questions.

1. Is there any new 1911s that can be purchased in MA shops other than S&W or auto ord?

2. do all S&W 1911s have that GIANT SW1911 on the slide?

3. Does anyone know where I can get a new Rock Island Armory 1911 (.45)through a dealer in MA?