• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

NES AR15 Lower Dilemma

Left the Communistwealth for Live Free or Die!
Since there is no shortage of opinions here and I need ideas, here is the dilemma and question:

I have an NES lower from the last buy. I already have an M&P15 set up for yotes with a serious scope and I have a Bushmaster M4 set up for close range SHTF with just iron sights.

I am considering setting up the NES Lower chambered in 6.8 SPC for Deer hunting, but I already have a Rem 7400 Carbine chambered in 30-06 and don't think I need another short barreled deer rifle, though the AR might be a lighter alternative on longer hunts. Also, many say it is better to use an AR10 platform for deer and I would like one to be camo if I did it.

Otherwise, I am at a loss. I don't want to sell it. I don't want to replicate for the uses I already have and I don't have time to get into competition rifle, so I have no need for that.

What would you build if you were in my position?

Maybe a 22 dedicated upper for plinking and training? Not high power I know, but cheap fun for sure. I took a spare upper/nes lower I had and built a clone of my shtf rifle, down to the fake gas tube under the handguard. I am very happy with the resuts. Mine took a little tuning but now it is running flawlessly.

Keri

I suggested the 50BMG first... Anyway, there are a number of models out there, including Bohica Arms, Tactilite, Safety Harbor, and a few others. They're all for real.

I suggested the 50BMG first... Anyway, there are a number of models out there, including Bohica Arms, Tactilite, Safety Harbor, and a few others. They're all for real.

Thanks, though his link made me actually think this was possible. I had no idea these things existed. Crazy looking device. Got to wonder about the recoil assuming this would be a lighter alternative to the purpose built .50BMG's out there.