• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

need peoples opinion

I have the opportunity to purchase an AMT Backup .380 with 2 magazines for $150, do you think this is a good deal? I am new to guns and there values so any input would be appreceated. Thanks in advance!!

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't know what they go for in other states, but that seems like a good price to me. I got one last year and paid somewhere in the $200's for it. Great little pistol!!! Fits great in the pocket of cargo shorts in the summer. Go for it!

You should get yourself one of those gun value books. Of course I think it is just a guide line. I have paid way over and way under the prices listed in them. I asked my local gun store what he uses and bought myself the same one.

Hope this helps!!!

I have a first generation AMT Backup (70's vintage) that is carried some and shot seldom.
It tends to throw the brass into the next county and is shoot at a range that is grass at the firing line. I loose about half my brass and am getting too lazy to go on an easter egg hunt for the rest.
With FMJRN bullets, it is perfectly reliable.
The maker had some QC problems for a while and some of them are rumored to be less reliable, although I have not personally found anyone who had a problem. I would run a couple of boxes of ammo through the gun to be sure.
I think that you have a good price as there is nothing else available like it for anywhere near that price.
The sight system is a bit rudimentary, so you'll want the target to be at powder burn range.
BTW, take-down is nearly impossible. You have to drive a pin out of the slide and then drive the breechblock out of the top of the slide with a brass drift thru the mag well, to remove the slide. It's much easier to hose it down with carb. cleaner and then a good spritz of oil, after removing the grips.