. Need legal advise

clampett

NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
My Daughter and Son in law signed a 8 month exclusive buyer agency agreement and she would like to get out of it. Every house my daughter has looked at, she has found herself. The agent hasn't done anything for them. Now my daughter is looking at a neighbors house that is not yet on the market. If she buys this house she will have to pay the agent 2 1/2 % of the sale.
If she hired an attorney what do you think her odds are of getting out of this agreement.

C. Stockwell

NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I would have them talk to a real estate lawyer to review the realtor agreement. My suspicion is that the agreement's for a set period of time or has contingencies that would allow the buyer to walk out. But I'm not a lawyer and this is a gun forum, so YMMV.

Edit: re-read and saw the agreement's for eight months. Easy then - wait it out and keep talking to the neighbor.

Last edited:

fencer

NES Member
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
Very simple. Have your daughter tell her that she wants a different agent, because she sucks at her job. Tell her that she is stupid, lazy and useless and that every house they have looked at they found themselves. The agent will probably rip up the agreement infront of her.

OK, maybe not, but it's worth a try!

PennyPincher

NES Member
Rating - 100%
12   0   0
Nope. Just have her call the BROKER, the person this agent works for. Have her tell the broker what has gone on and why she wants out of the contract. She should NOT mention that she has found a house she likes.

BUT - there's more to representing a buyer than "finding" them a house.

Also - both the buyer and seller usually think they will save the commission when keeping agents out of it. Both parties can't save the commission but they could "split it" in the price.