Need gunsmith for Browning 78 Falling Block

Hi All,

Ive already asked a few who I deem to be competent gunsmiths and none of them could re-install the firing pin in my Browning 78 Falling Block. Any suggestions out there? I’m not opposed to shipping the gun out of state. Thanks

Is it not just held in with a pin/screw?
Is the pin/screw fubar?

Last edited:
Correct Mac 1911. They were removed by previous owner. I heard it a can of worms to drop the action.
I think for a “rolling block” design its a bit over engineered but other than stripped and or rust frozen parts they are not terrible.
Im a mechanic and have always liked to tear into things so I have a different view.
Maybe post some pics of your problems?

I think for a “rolling block” design its a bit over engineered but other than stripped and or rust frozen parts they are not terrible.
Im a mechanic and have always liked to tear into things so I have a different view.
Maybe post some pics of your problems?

I think its worth pointing out that a Browning 1878 was actually built by JMB and his brothers in their Ogden gun shop and would've been hand-fitted together. There's an estimated 100 of the guns still around. Definitely not something I'd try to work on at home, especially if local gunsmiths are outright refusing to touch it.

Hi All,

Ive already asked a few who I deem to be competent gunsmiths and none of them could re-install the firing pin in my Browning 78 Falling Block. Any suggestions out there? I’m not opposed to shipping the gun out of state. Thanks
So I have to ask is this a original model 78 or is it the newer reintroduction B78 that is really a 1885 inside?
Alot of these lever guns can be tricky to get together ,
I have been searching all over for at least a good diagram of the model 78. Appears to be a field service manual available but I have not found a source yet