Need a HAM radio antenna for my car...

Reptile

NES Member
I want it professionally installed by a car radio place.

The reason why is that I'm not good at tucking in wires.

If the antenna is too weak for my HT at 5 watts - I'll have to buy a mobile unit to install in the car, too.

I only like Yaesu.

This will be for the Mt. Tom repeater.

Please suggest a antenna and possibly a Yaesu mobile for auto installation.

Edit:

This radio might be good:

Yaesu is pleased to introduce the new FTM-200DR – 50W VHF/UHF Dual Band C4FM/ FM Mobile Transceiver.

Last edited:
I happen to like Larsen NMO mounts, but anything from Diamond, Comet, Hustler will work fine. I'd avoid MFJ. They sell a lot of garbage, and their customer service isn't great.

Any mobile from Yaesu, Kenwood, Icom, or Anytone will work fine. It's mostly personal preference. If you want to do digital, that will have a bearing, as each manufacturer has their own digital standard - Yaesu Fusion, Icom Dstar, Kenwood Dstar, Anytone DMR.

I want it professionally installed by a car radio place.

The reason why is that I'm not good at tucking in wires.

If the antenna is too weak for my HT at 5 watts - I'll have to buy a mobile unit to install in the car, too.

I only like Yaesu.

This will be for the Mt. Tom repeater.

Please suggest a antenna and possibly a Yaesu mobile for auto installation.

Edit:

This radio might be good:

Yaesu is pleased to introduce the new FTM-200DR – 50W VHF/UHF Dual Band C4FM/ FM Mobile Transceiver.

Don't think anout the antenna as much as a mount. Nmo? Po? Etc. PO is probably the most versatile. Honestly if you're paying somebody to do work like that you might as well do more than one at a time and put a CB or HF mount in the mix somewhere or at least run a wire (like times lmr-240uf or whatever they call it now) to where you're going to punch the hole for the mount.