• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

My new target rifle.

My recent purchase of a Remington 700 sps varmint has turned out to be a good buy. It was to get my foot through the door of medium/long range shooting and upgrade it over time. Any suggestions on what some of the first things I should take care of on this gun should be? I put a Nikon pro staff 3-12x40mm on it as its what I could afford.

I was thinking:
new stock
Trigger.

I am no expert long range shooter but I think you can't go wrong with a new trigger if you feel it is needed. All I wanted to add is that I am jealous...I have wanted a 700 for a while but have yet to pull the trigger myself. Enjoy it!

theres a great thread in the training subforum about long range shooting

New trigger isnt really nessecary i really didnt mind the 700's x pro or mark or whatever you call it trigger. But a new stock is definetly a must.

Stock on this gun is very flimsy

yea not the greatest it'll do but you want somthing more solid.

on the low end choate, B&C toward the higher end Manners, HS, McMillian, AI. Or you could go with a chassis setup.

If it was my gun and i didnt have a ton of money B&C but if i had money to burn Manners all day everyday.

Freefloat, and bedding if you go with a tradtional stock. if you go with a chassis then it's not really needed.

As for scope i think you'll be fine, you'll probably upgrade to somthing better in due time. I like the SWFA SS 10x or the Weaver Grandslam Tactical. Vortex is another good brand and people are saying good things about Millet (even though they are budget scopes)

Yea it's a great start. Now I just have to get a membership to a gunclub.

- - - Updated - - -

Yea it's a great start. Now I just have to get a membership to a gunclub.