• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

My letter to 5th Congressional District Rep - Suppressor Legislation

Ms. Clark,

I am writing to you, as a constituent in your district, regarding the proposed legislation to remove the prohibition on the private ownership of firearms suppressors, commonly known as "silencers" (SD.66, SD.1133). I would like you to support this legislation.

I am a life-long Massachusetts resident, save for my time in the U.S. Army; I am a nationally-certified firearms safety instructor, an avid sport shooter, and a responsible citizen. The common ownership of suppressors in private hands has long been lauded by gun control activists as an exigent threat to public safety, however, most of those people have had their opinions surrounding the efficacy of suppressors informed by Hollywood movies. In reality, suppressors reduce the average sound from a discharging firearm from ~160 db range (jet engine) to the ~120 db range (a rock concert) (source: http://www.todayifoundout.com/index.php/2010/11/gun-silencers-dont-make-them-anywhere-near-silent/). The reduction in sound would not only help to make the experience of target shooting and sport shooting more enjoyable, but it would dramatically reduce the risk of hearing damage. Having spent much time at shooting ranges, even with two layers of ear protection (foam ear plugs and ear muffs), the discharge is still quite loud. From a public health perspective, allowing citizens access to a tool which will help them protect a vital sensory organ seems like a no-brainer.

I am, however, quite troubled by the response a friend of mine received from a colleague of yours, state senator Will Brownsberger. Mr. Brownsberger indicated he would NOT support the legislation because: