• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

my first 308 loads

I am new to reloading 308, but not new to reloading. I've been reloading 223 with 75 gr HPBT for long range shooting with reasonable success. My first try at 308 was surprising. 175 gr Sierra HPBT in LC brass using CFE 223. The posted loads at Shooters Reference said: start 45.5 gr (2,612 fps and pressure at 49,600) and max 47.5 (2752 fps and pressure at 60,400). I loaded up some at 46.5 gr, right in the middle at the posted OAL of 2.80" to try out. I fired 5 rounds of Norma factory 175s and they fired well and extracted very smoothly. I tried my reloads and was getting stuck cases in my bolt rifle. The last stuck case I didn't get out until I got home. I didn't like using a plastic cushioned hammer on my bolt handle but couldn't think of any other way to clear it.

Any thoughts or advice on my experience?
Going on memory “loading manual “
Says something like start at 5-10% below max published load data and work up.
Double check your load data, charge weight.

Drop one of those cases into your chamber, strip the bolt (important) and see if the bolt closes with just finger pressure alone..... I am guessing it won't. Curious to see.

Honestly, I thought CFE223 burns too fast for 308 but it is not the fasted 308 recommended powder. Yet somehow its loads generate higher pressures. (I have edited my original post). I must admit I'm a bit negatively biased against CFE223 for anything but plinking loads in 223/5.56. I do occasionally load with it (223 only) but haven't seen great accuracy from it.