• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Muzzleloading Recommendations?? (in MA)

KMM696

NES Member
So, after reading the CVA Op-Ed thread, I realized that the unused muzzleloader I have is, I think, a CVA. I'll check when I get home...but until then:

What would y'all recommend for muzzleloaders? My focus is on muzzleloaders that work within the MA Fish and Wildlife Regs for deer, but I'd be interested to hear 'free state' or 'don't know about F&W regs, but..' recommendations too. I have no experience with any of them, other than buying a coworkers raffle win CVA (I think) 2 years ago, and not trying it yet.

Thanks

Mass has pretty loose regs for muzzle loaders. If you just want a hunting tool,
any good quality inline with a decent scope will be fine. The ranges here tend
to be very short, so you don't need stunning precision (IMHO). My knight will
easily do under 2" at 100 yds with the right bullet/powder combination, but
4" would be acceptable as well. Low power scopes with good low light performance would also help.

My biggest complaint with MA hunting is finding land to hunt without 200 other bozos! Good luck with that one...

Is the only muzzleloader restriction in MA against "hinge action" except during shotgun season, then?

Not as bad as I had expected....

My biggest complaint with MA hunting is finding land to hunt without 200 other bozos! Good luck with that one...

I might have a few suggestions on that, if you ever want to try zone 4N or 4S. It's not real crowded out here.... [smile]

Thanks

Is the only muzzleloader restriction in MA against "hinge action" except during shotgun season, then?

Not as bad as I had expected....

I might have a few suggestions on that, if you ever want to try zone 4N or 4S. It's not real crowded out here.... [smile]

Thanks

My T/C Omega is great. No scope and shoots just about 2" on 100gr trip7 pellets.