• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Minimum barrel thickness for 9mm

milktree

NES Member
I'm building a 9mm carbine, including profiling the barrel.

How thin can I make it and maintain safety?

I don't mean "at the chamber", I mean "at least 2.5 inches from the breech"

I want it to be light, but not at the expense of being sloppy/floppy, so I want to put flutes in it.

How deep can I make the flutes before it's a risk?

A Glock 26 barrel has a wall thickness of about .11", so I know I can easily go that deep.

But how much of that is because it needs to be stiff in the Glock action?

For instance, if I used a .70" OD with flutes deep enough for a .08" thickness minimum, is that a problem? the .700" OD would make it nice and stiff, the flutes would make it lighter.

Like this:

fluted_barrel.PNG

I'm no engineer, but if you have a program like Solidworks, you should be able to at least determine the factor of safety using SAAMI specs of the desired ammunition and design/composition of the barrel. Still though, things get more complicated between schematics and fabrication when heat treatment strength factors come into play. What looks good on paper might not translate to the real world if your steel quality or heat treatment aren't up to spec. I'd assume you'd want to err on the side of caution with regards to over engineering as opposed to minimum tolerances.

That being said, I did find this document. See page 5+. Again, I'm not an engineer and barely understand what I'm looking at, so don't take this as the bible or anything. Just a good reference piece for further research:

http://www.imaximo.com/ATTACHMENTS/Barrels.pdf

For pressure vessels the thing your usually concerned with is hoop stress. Its usually the direction of the greatest stress. Thats why pipes, tanks ect tend to split their sides (axially) like hotdogs on the grill.