• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Mini 14 accuracy

I was just reading a thread on about an ar15 vs ar 10 accuracy at 600 yards. Wow some of you know your stuff. I am new to the gun world so forgive my simple questions. What is it that makes the ar 15 o much more accurate than a mini 14?
Thanks

Here we go again. Someone chime in how a Hesse built tier 98 AR can make one inch groups at 600 yards and any mini 14 can't hit the ground when pointed down........

Essentially the mini has a thin barrel that whips and changes POI as it heats up.

I was wondering this same thing a few days ago. I've heard mixed reviews on the Minis accuracy. Some people say that since Ruger started making Minis with a thicker barrel, the accuracy has improved. I'm not an expert though.

Been thinking about getting a Mini and since I can get them for about $400 through work, I might pick one up.

As stated it was a barrel issue and temp inconsistency.

Like the Pinto, it was remedied, but the damage had been done. Word is the newer ones don't suffer from this, but I've never shot a new one.

There is so much more that goes into accuracy than twist rate and barrel thickness.

Accuracy is the measurement of how close to the target something is, which is different than precision. Precision is how repeatable a given measurement or observation is. Something can be accurate without being precise and vise versa.