MASS LTC-ALP, purchase ammo in neighboring state and bring it back into MA

i searched the forums, many variants but 5 pages of info not exactly pertaining to me.

i am a mass resident with mass LTC, no restrictions. can i purchase ammo in maine, at lets say cabelas, and bring it back into MA? stored in truck and locked.

i do NOT possess a maine license for firearms.

Thanks!

You can do it, if you have money.

I've heard that some border stores will check you for Mass paper if they think you're from Mass., but AFAIK there's no license required for ammo purchases in NH or ME.

Also there's no "locked " requirement for ammo trasport in Mass.

Yes, you can purchase ammunition in ME (or almost any other state) and bring it back to MA (I believe only IL and MA require a license to purchase ammo).

And as MisterHappy said, ammo storage/transport in a vehicle is unregulated in MA.

Every time I buy ammo in NH, they immediately ask to see my MA LTC. I keep wondering how they know I am from MA just by looking at me. I'm not even a native.

You do not need a license to purchase ammo outside of MA, at least not in any of the 45+ other more normal states. There's no "lock it up" requirement, either.

Walmart in NH may ask for an LTC/FID on an MA person, but that's a policy, not law. MFL and possibly one or two other gun shops in NH may have a similar policy, but it's not required by law.

-Mike

I have been asked for ID at the Salem NH Wally World (Wal-Mart) almost every time I have purchased ammo but I have never been asked at a gun shop

And I am a NH resident

I have been asked for ID at the Salem NH Wally World (Wal-Mart) almost every time I have purchased ammo but I have never been asked at a gun shop

And I am a NH resident

Same here for the Epping walmart. Asked the guy why he asked me for my ID. He said to make sure I was old enough. I guess being 33 and having grays doesn't constitute being older than 18 ( was buying .223 to try out in the AR).