• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Mass Firearms Holliston MA

Hey there everyone. Newbie here so I apologize if I'm doing this wrong, but I was wondering if anyone had any experiences with Mass Firearms. I took my LTC class there and it seems like a really great place. Since I live in Newton, my options are decently limited from what I've seen but this store looks good. I'd be really glad to hear about what other people thought though.

Welcome to the forum Andrew.

MFS is a nice place to shoot. If you're a member they have plenty of firearms for you to try. I've brought a couple of guns from their store...the prices were OK.

I am pretty sure more will chime in...no lack of opinions here.

Safety shooting!

Range is really nice.

Good selection of guns/ammo

Some of the staff are a little arrogant.

Need to reserves a lane, especially in the winter and on weekends.

It's good. I go there now and then.

Only issue is that it's a public range.. As such you get a lot of new shooters and some groups of people that are not as good at gun handling as I would like to be around.

But, no real FUDD rules which is nice!

Oh... And one more thing no rifle calibers.

I mean, I can't complain about the new shooters since I'm a newbie myself. That said, I do understand that a lot of newbies tend to ignore safety in the interest of "looking cool". And the lack of rifle range kind of bugged me too but I figure I'm gonna be buying mostly for Home Defense and range shooting so not having a .30-30 might not be that bad. I might look into Four Seasons as a shop and MFS as my range.

May be a little farther out, but Pullman has been a big supporter fighting Maura Healey and has a great rep among people here.

Pullman might be an option just because they actually have the R1 1911 in stock. That's my ideal 1st gun so them having it is a major plus.