Mallards being fed…

Ok, so I’ve got an issue and need advice.

I’ve been scouting cape cod for duck hunting spots and haven’t had much luck, except one pond that is full of mallards.

Problem: local PD and hunters both confirm that a resident feeds them. People still hunt there but very rarely from what I’ve noticed.

There’s a lot of ducks on this pond and they all come in right on one side of this pond where they are fed, and nothing i have tried to do will change their direction.

I am not an expert duck hunter, I’m very green… my question is, do I keep on this spot?

Because it’s the only place I’ve found where there is ducks consistently, which is great. I really struggle finding ponds to hunt on cape because there is SO MUCH private property in the way.

I use one or two spinners and usually hunt only days where there is enough motion on the water.. I’ve been playing with a jerk rig but it kinda sucks.

I’ve been playing with different calls, this and that, trying everything and it’s just been a struggle.

Should I keep tryin, or in your experience, when a mallard knows where they will be fed they just go there regardless.

In other words, do I need to keep improving my technique or am I wasting my time ? Obviously I’m trying to learn but if a fed duck just goes where it’s fed and that’s that, then I don’t want to waste al that effort.. I’ve been scouting like crazy to find a new spot but here I am asking you because it’s the only spot I’ve had any luck at.

Be careful, you may run into regulations banning hunting waterfowl over bait. Federal regulations apply.

I haven’t seen many this year, but Broad Cove in Someset usually has a good number of them. Not sure if hunting ok either. Lol. But maybe a good start. Not on Cape.

And be careful. A few guys died hunting winter ducks on the Westport River about 10 years ago.

Yep it's tough to find huntable ponds down here & then find out of those ponds ones that hold ducks.