• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Magazine Springs

AFVet

NES Member
How often do you guys rotate your home protection pistol / EDC pistol Mags to keep from wearing out the springs ? I swap mine out about every 2 -3 months. Is that too long ?
My main concern is because my wife and I will be the hosts at one of the campgrounds in the White Mountains this year so the magazine / s, will be loaded for 6 months straight.
Thanks in advance for advice / knowledge on this. Paul

what the??...Every 2-3 months?! As snax said, its the cycling that wears them out - not sure when they'll "wear out" depending on the manufacturer/use etc.

I've got mecgar CZ mags that I've been using for 5+ years with constant use - well over 10k rounds and I've never replaced the mag springs.

I replace my recoil spring every year but that's about it.

How often do you guys rotate your home protection pistol / EDC pistol Mags to keep from wearing out the springs ? I swap mine out about every 2 -3 months. Is that too long ?
My main concern is because my wife and I will be the hosts at one of the campgrounds in the White Mountains this year so the magazine / s, will be loaded for 6 months straight.
I'd like to know what you're encountering that makes you think you're wearing out the springs??

why? do you see actual deterioration of any functions to get it replaced?
I use a CGW 11# spring and after many thousands of rounds, the slide feels sluggish when chambering a round. I also notice some additional muzzle flip which sometimes causes the POI to be a little higher (not that much honestly). So I just replace it each year as easy/cheap maintenance item.

I think it may be less noticeable if you're running heavier springs?