• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

MA AG situation

Dumb question. Why hasn't any of the orgs for gun rights in this state sent a lawyer in to file an injunction, counter suit, whatever you want to call it?????

I'm no lawyer, but perhaps because no one has been charged yet under this new "guidance". At this point, she just stated her opinion, really. But unfortunately for us, that opinion comes with weight and possible consequences.

But there has to be a limit, if she said that she is issuing guidance that all gas powered cars are illegal now in MA because they violate her new interpetation of the clean air act, I don't think they would have to lock up a dealer before there was some sort of challenge.

Could this be considered interfering in interstate commerce?

Dumb question. Why hasn't any of the orgs for gun rights in this state sent a lawyer in to file an injunction, counter suit, whatever you want to call it?????

I'm pretty sure they're pondering their next move, however, they want to make sure it's the *right* move, and they also don't want to tip their hand.

An injunction could be filed, but with the courts/judges in this state, they can easily deny any Motion that is filed. Let Comm2a handle it.

Because filing a lawsuit without having done your homework means you are destined to lose and lose quickly. You only have one bite at that apple -- that loss would create precedent that would make a future lawsuit much more difficult (if possible at all).

Chances are it will be months before a lawsuit is brought and years before it is resolved. Our chances of having it resolved in our favor are probably less than 50-50.

Good, thoughtful and successful litigation is seldom swift or dramatic. I always admired The Good Wife for their ability to litigate complex legal cases in 60 minutes. In reality, it's downright anti-climactic.