M1896 Mauser Question

M125X

NES Member
Hey guys, recently acquired an old 1898 Swedish Mauser. The previous owner had not fired it, however I would like to since that's what guns are for! 6.5X55 and Numbers matching it appears to be in great condition. Plan on taking a closer look this week. That being said, I would normally check the headspace with go/no-go/field gauges and the like. However, when doing some research I came across this site and it said that often the no-go gauge will fit the Mauser yet they are still perfectly safe to shoot:

Am I go to go with checking and just making sure that "field" doesn't fit. If that's the case any other precautions besides a good cleaning/oiling/inspection?

Guy said I should fire it from a bench with a string to be safe... but I feel like he is just being over cautious. I have never done this with any of my C&R's before; usually just bring them to the range.

Thoughts?

it never hurts to check it with a field gauge. Just remember that the gauges are more than likely going to be to SAMMI spec not 100 yr old swede specs.
Do you have a case headspace comparator ?

If so you can at least do the poor mans headspace check. measure a unfired case , then keep adding a layer of scotch tape at the case head until the bolt wont seat. do this with a stripped bolt and basically the weight of the bolt handle?
will give you a general Idea of headspace.

personally I would be looking closely for cracks around the lugs and such before headspace worries?

1618746056999.png

Swedish Mausers didn't see much if any combat use, were well made and maintained, and came into the US in the 1950s-90s, depending on the import batch. They're probably among the best looked-after surplus guns on the market, at least until the guns went into consumers' hands here in the US - but even still, most people who buy Swedish Mausers generally aren't using the rifles very hard.