• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Lost gun, found...Police Investigating

Better question is what kind of special do you need to be lose a handgun unless its been stolen? I've been carrying almost daily since I get my LTC two years ago and my gun never leaves my holster unless I'm home playing with it.

I saw something similar on Alaska State Troopers. They had surveillance footage of a nice 1911 falling off the side of a pick up truck and landing in the middle of a busy intersection. They tracked down the owner and gave it back to him.

Wanna bet it's a LEO?

When I was a teenager I wound up babysitting for half a dozen kids, while my mom and dad, the the cop around the corner and his wife, scoured the neighborhood for his service piece. It was found 50 minutes drive away, where it finally broke free from the roof rack of his car and landed in the gutter right outside his station house.

I don't know how that ended.

IDK ask the Holyoke , MA cop that " lost " a sniper rifle and then left his hadgun in a bathroom at the Holyoke Mall .
Remember that he is a cop and with that title comes entitlements. He is entitled to an unrestricted LTC, unlike the rest of us. If he is Civil Service, good luck getting rid of him. Those of us in what columnist Howie Carr calls the "Dreaded Private Sector" are not so lucky. If this guy in Hyannis is identified, the loss of his LTC may be the least of his problems. He may be criminally charged for improper storage, failure to report loss of firearm, etc. If charged, his job and paycheck may also be in jeopardy. Unless, of course, he turns out to be a cop! [wink]

Better question is what kind of special do you need to be lose a handgun unless its been stolen? I've been carrying almost daily since I get my LTC two years ago and my gun never leaves my holster unless I'm home playing with it.