• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Les Baer Bullseye conversion?

Mudflap621

NES Member
Hi I’m new to the 1911 platform but recently inherited a beautiful Baer Bullseye wadcutter gun. From their website and what I’m told it’s meant for wadcutter loads only but I’m having a hard time finding ammo for this thing. My question is what makes this a wadcutter only firearm and is it easily convertible or able to fire fmj range ammo? I just wanna shoot the crap outa this thing but don’t wanna ruin anything or have such a hard time locating suitable loads. Thanks for any help.

There are tons of commercial reloaders that load SWCs, and every random home reloader can do it pretty easy.

Otherwise if you want to change the gun I would talk to a 1911 mechanic about it (like Lou @ Business end, or Santurri, someone like that) but chances are that something is going to have to get sacrificed to change how it feeds.

-Mike

Does it have a very light recoil spring? Just a guess, maybe it was meant for shooting 200 grain SWCs at 700 fps or something?

Thanks for the suggestions I myself was thinking probably a light spring setup for shooting soft loads but wasn’t positive. I’ll give Them a shout

Thanks I have not tried shooting regular loads as want to make sure doesn’t ruin anything. Been super busy but will update once get in touch with someone at Baer

I wouldn't without changing the spring. Full house loads would probably loosen it up quickly.
Its been a long time since I had 1911 on the brain
if your shooting wads on the lighter side a #14 spring might be in there? IIRC #16 is the "norm"
IIRC theres about 5lbs of recoil energy with the 230 ball and close to 2lbs less for the wad cutters.
My 45 load was 185gn @ around 750fps.

Anyhow at $2500 or so for a les wad cutter ......buy some wad cutters put a 5" bull at 50 yards and enjoy.

Last edited: