• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Legally defined near-assault weapons and suppressors/silencers; possible?

gss

In CT;

Question 1: Is a sound suppressor legally considered a flash suppressor, by design or otherwise?
Question 2: Is it possible to legally own an AR with a functional sound suppressor?

First off, I apologize if this has been answered in some other fashion. I've search high and low all over the web, but I can't seem to find an answer (nor anyone asking the same questions).

I am a CT resident. I currently legally own several guns and suppressors (silencers).

I was having a discussion with a friend, and couldn't decide what may be true. I'm most likely going to ask a dealer, but I was curious what the concensus might be.

Known:

Sec. 53-202a. Assault weapons: Definition. (a) As used in this section and sections 53-202b to 53-202k, inclusive, "assault weapon" means:

(1) The whole long list of name brand rifles

(2) Parts and combos for form stuff in (1)

(3) Any semiautomatic firearm not listed in subdivision (1) of this subsection that meets the following criteria:

(A) A semiautomatic rifle that has an ability to accept a detachable magazine and has at least two of the following:

(i) A folding or telescoping stock;

(ii) A pistol grip that protrudes conspicuously beneath the action of the weapon;

(iii) A bayonet mount;

(iv) A flash suppressor or threaded barrel designed to accommodate a flash suppressor; and

(v) A grenade launcher; or

(B) A semiautomatic pistol....blah blah blah

Take a stock Bushy AR that you can legally buy. It has a pinned stock and a brake instead of a flash suppressor. So right now you're at the limit on legal configuration from an AWB perspective:

- semiautomatic rifle
- ability to accept a detachable magazine
- pistol grip