• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

lee loadmaster alignment issues

I am fairly new to reloading and purchased a load master because of the price and it has been great, but recently the shell plate and die turrett seem to have fallen out of allignment. I'm lost and don't have a clue what to do any advice will be appreciated. And please I don't need to see 100 comment that say "go blue" or throw it away and buy a Dillon cause at the moment that's not an option. Thanks

The best way to align the shell plate and turret is to put a shell in the sizing/decap station and one in the seating/crimp die station and operate the handle to bring the shells up into the dies. Loosen the knurled set screw holding the turret. Get the brass fully engaged in the dies then tighten the knurled screw to lock the turret in place. That should do it.

I'd like to add that the shell plate carrier has a bolt that goes through to the bottom of the ram. While you have the ram raised with shells in the dies tighten the nut under the ram. Don't go crazy on it but tighten it up. That will keep the shell plate carrier in position.

You weren't specific on how they are out of alignment. Are you having a primer issue? A case insertion issue? Or a simple die alignment issue?

Last edited:
Just a heads up on root cause on this type of thing with Lees, make sure you're not putting Berdan primed brass thru. You'll push the decapping pin up and the plate won't full cycle. Saw this on a buddies press.

I've never had mine get really out of time, but have had it "short stroke" on berdan primers, or if a primer half seats and hang in the eject portion of the program. Go to YouTube, Lee precision has a channel with some great videos on their equipment. The one you're looking for is here: http://youtu.be/VjqwHbnS1Og

Lee's videos are short and to the point, so there's not a lot f extra fluff.