• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Lee Classic Cast Review

I've been reloading since the late 1980s. My first press was a tried and true RCBS Rock Chucker II. I still have it, but when I first got it back 20+ years ago I thought there has got to be a better way to deal with the primers. Well I put up with the crappy design until four weeks ago when I got a Lee Classic Cast press. I've been recommending these for a while and I finally got fed up with my RCBS and figured I'd upgrade. I also have a RCBS Partner and a Hornady LNL Progressive, but a solid single stage is best for what I mostly do; rifle shooting.

If you are considering a single stage press, it's hard to get a better press than the Lee Classic Cast. It will save you $50 over a Rock Chucker at Midway USA. It's a better press and you wont have to deal with the friggin mess that the Rock Chucker creates.

B

My 20 year old RCII and its primer catch bin. Poor design even back then.

scaled.php

I even took out the priming feature to facilitate the primers making their way to the catch bin.

scaled.php

My new press. Spent primers go down the hollow ram and into a trash bin.

scaled.php

Other side.

scaled.php

Got a LNL bushing conversion for the press.

scaled.php

pict0071wz.jpg

Does it cam over at the top?

Just for the record, the new Rockchucker Supreme catches the primers much better.

It does not cam-over like the rock chucker. I looked at the newer rock chucker and I did not think it did a better job of handling spent primers, although I have no direct experience using it. Most of the posts on castbullets.com seemed to complain of clogged chutes. I mostly use it for decapping before wet tumbling, and my cases are small ( .223; 308 & .30-06).

B