• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Law enforcement recruiting?

Has anyone else noticed some of the opportunities that have been popping up recently? After hearing an add on the radio advertising Border Patrol Agent positions I took the test as soon as possible. When I went to my Oral board interview and physical, I was presently surprised at the number and enthusiasm of the other applicants. It seems the recruiting push is going well.[grin]

Also, I am a student at Massasoit community college in Brockton, and the NYPD is having some sort of function to sign guys up for the test. Looks like they need guys as well. If anyone's interested, its November 19 from 12 to 1 PM.

the NYPD is having some sort of function to sign guys up for the test.

Although I am sure that you are very eager to get a job in Law Enforcement I would strongly recommend against the NYPD at this point in time.

There are many other large city Departments that are hiring.

Although I am sure that you are very eager to get a job in Law Enforcement I would strongly recommend against the NYPD at this point in time.

There are many other large city Departments that are hiring.

Any particular reason for that statement? They DID increase there starting pay to the mid 40's... much better than the low 30's they were originally paying.

Any particular reason for that statement? They DID increase there starting pay to the mid 40's... much better than the low 30's they were originally paying.

The politics, moral and the working conditions are horrible. I know many a NYPD officer and not one of them has anything positive to say about the Department.

With the starting pay being so low over the past years (25K) they have had to loosen up the hiring standards.