Law Enforcement Gun purchases denied

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a federal law enforcement officer working in the Boston Field office. I was in my local gun dealer this past tuesday and requested that they order some equipment for me as they have in the past. They said that they have been reprimanded by the Ma Attorney Generals office for selling firearms to LEO's. According to the AG, Law Enforcement Officers have no more rights in Ma than any other resident and must abide by "the list".

I am a federal law enforcement officer working in the Boston Field office. I was in my local gun dealer this past tuesday and requested that they order some equipment for me as they have in the past. They said that they have been reprimanded by the Ma Attorney Generals office for selling firearms to LEO's. According to the AG, Law Enforcement Officers have no more rights in Ma than any other resident and must abide by "the list".

Strictly speaking individual LEOs are also stuck with the EOPS roster. It's always been that way. There were some dealers that stretched that a bit. Not so much now. Basically the dealer only gets a "stay out of court/jail free" card if they stick to stuff on the roster when
selling to individual LEOs. (For those wondering- departmental official purchases are different, and are completely exempt, but I doubt that's what he's talking about here. )

BTW they used terrible phrasing. You have the right to buy whatever handgun you damned well please, more or less. It's the dealers who are limited in their "acts" by the compliance law, not the buyers.

-Mike

Thats true.

You don't have any more rights than us citizens.

LEOs forget this and need to be reminded that they are not special.

The shop is correct.
Unless you have documentation from your chief that the gun is to be purchased for use on duty, the shop cannot sell you an item not on the list.

Thats true.

You don't have any more rights than us citizens.