Laser Boresighters

I've been tossing around the idea of buying a boresight for a while now, and since I have a couple of build projects going now, I think it might be time to actually do it.

Anyone have any experience with any of the units priced under $100? I looked at Midway and found this

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=112880&t=11082005

$49 with the dealer discount.

There's also a cheaper Bushnell model.

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=636671&t=11082005

I also found this at CTD. Since I have 5 carbines on hand, with two stripped receivers and a sixth complete one on the way, it could be worth it, but I'm wary of the quality of anything that CTD sells

http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/18188-20335-1438.html

Thoughts? Advice? Warnings?

site lite sl-100

i have this unit and it does an excellent job. included are rubber o-rings
to fit each caliber. i have no experience with this one.

JimB

Ive always used an old style collimator but last year I purchased a cheapo laser bore sighter quite similar to those in the links you posted.
I was surprised at how well it worked. It had every rifle I used it on hitting paper on the first shot and I didnt need more than 3 or four shots to fine tune each one. For the money , you cant go wrong.
The one I bought only goes up to .50 cal.
If I bought another I would make sure to buy one that I could use on a shotgun.

I was wondering about these too. So, is their purpose just to get the hits "on paper", then the rest I still have to do by firing groups of 3? What could I expect for MOA accuracy with just using a laser boresighter and no additional firing?

1 insert bore sighting device
2 load a live cartridge
3 fire gun
4 Get up off ground
5 tape up your face
6 remove pieces or broken safety glasses from neck and chest
7 pick up pieces of gun barrel of the ground
8 apologize to everyone at the range
9 see if the bore sighting device is left, right, low, high