• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Is this legal in MA?

Hi Everyone,
I am still fairly new to all the laws of purchase and ownership of long guns in MA. I am considering the purchase of the following Rifle from Savage arms. It is the model 93r17 bsev, 17 HMR. I have not found one in this state... but I travel and have the opportunity to purchase elsewhere. The problem I have is not knowing if I will be able to even take it to the range to play with it. I think it is a legal weapon as it is Bolt action and doesn't exceed 10 rounds in the magazine. With a scope it is a sweet rifle for benchrest shooting. Can anyone just confirm the legality of the rifle... I know I would have to fill out the FA10 form etc... I just want to do this correctly.
Thanks[grin]

Thanks for the info... I was originally thinking about a Ruger 10/22... but by the time I got through adding for a heavy barrel, a trigger job, stock, etc.... the dollars were going fairly high... then a dealer in Utah showed me this baby... I was sold. Now to find a closer dealer. If anyone can recomend a good LGS in western MA that deals in Savage Arms products I am all ears.

I've been looking into getting one of the 93r17 TR rifles just because I think they look cool as hell.

From what I've seen a lot of dealers don't stock Savage rifles but most will be able to order a specific model. As for 17hmr, its still available because it never took off in popularity like manufacturers had hoped. With it being rimfire and new rifles still being cranked out, I don't see it going away any time soon.

I've been looking into getting one of the 93r17 TR rifles just because I think they look cool as hell.