• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Is this an issue?

greenfar0608

NES Member
I'm fairly new to reloading and to test out what would work best for me loaded up about 10 rounds of 45 ACP at various powder charges and with 2 different powders.

I used both Hodgdon Titegroup and CFE and loaded a few rounds at each of the charge levels in .1 increments from the lightest load up to the max.

Every reload that I have fired comes out very dirty on one side. The soot seems to wipe away easily so the picture here isn't great but I wanted to see if this is an issue with the case not sealing properly or something I should not worry about. I have never had this issue with any factory brass only my reloads. There is a piece of once fired factory brass in the middle of the fired reloads for comparison.

I have not noticed any other abnormalities on the reloaded brass either when inspecting or while shooting.

Any advice/guidance would be appreciated.

Attachments

• brass.jpg
    brass.jpg
    134.9 KB · Views: 194
Everything chambers fine. And everything has cycled fine. Haven't had any rounds not pass the case gauge check. This is happening on the max pressure loads as well as the minimum loads and everything in between.

No experience with CFE but I know Titegroup burns super hot and always stains the cases regardless of min or max charges.

I stopped using TG a number of years ago. Works fine and it’s cheap but wasn’t a fan of how hot it burns.

If they cycle your gun fine and shoot well then I wouldn’t worry.

you think those are dirty? i must be reloading all wrong.

brass-jpg.304813

No experience with CFE but I know Titegroup burns super hot and always stains the cases regardless of min or max charges.

I stopped using TG a number of years ago. Works fine and it’s cheap but wasn’t a fan of how hot it burns.