• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Is $599.00 a good price for a M1 carbine?

First of, please forgive my ignorance. I am still fairly new to firearms in general and even more so to Mil Surp (WW2) era weapons. I was looking at various gun sites and came across a 1945 M1 .30 carbine for $599. Is this generally a good price for one of those? Unfortunately I do not have any details on the gun other than it had a folding stock. I've been trying to find the site again with no luck. I swear I must be going through early stages of Alzheimer's [frown]

Check out www.odcmp.com , they have surplus rifles at the best prices, and their service is outstanding. You can probably save some $$ although anything with a folding stock (paratrooper model) from them will be sold at an auction for thousands of dollars because those are collectors items. $600 is not a bad price if the rifle is in very good shape. The ones from the CMP range from $420 to $675, depending on how rare and how good condition they are in.

http://www.odcmp.com/rifles/carbine.htm

Way too many variables to say if the price is good or not. Some of the rarer manufacturers can go for twice that amount. condition means a lot to the bottom line. Unless the folding stock is a true military item, it isn't worth much.

The previous advice to go to the CMP site is good - www.odcmp.com.

There are a lot of variables - manufacturer, condition, etc., $599.00 is not a bad price in general. But depending on the condition you could pick up the same rifle from CMP for less money - as long as they have them.

Check out the forums on the CMP site - there are guys there who live and breathe this stuff and should be able to tell you with a lot more authority how much the rifle is really worth.