• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Intro/questions

Hey guys, I'm new here. I'm 16 years old[shocked], live in MA, except on weekends, I'm usually in NH. I plan on doing some plinking (ALL distances), no hunting or anything. I've been shooting airguns for about 5 years.

I just got back from my first gun show [smile] , and had a few questions:

So I did some research, and found I wanted a Remington 700 VLS in .308. Add a decent scope, and I have a really accurate gun.

However, after going to the gun show and handling some AR-15's (in .223) that are about the same price, I cant decide on which gun to get first (I have to have both eventually[rolleyes] , just which one to get first).

My question: Would I be better off starting with the iron sights and the milder .223 round? Or should I get the scoped Remington, and learn 'control' with a bolt action?

Thanks[grin]

How about a .22LR for your first rifle instead? They're cheap to buy and shoot, and with no recoil to speak of they're great to learn the basics on.

Oh, and welcome aboard!

Well Ross, the AR15 has almost no recoil and isn't a bad rifle to train on! [wink]

Only downsides are:

- Most indoor ranges won't allow .223 rifles,
- Ammo is a lot more expensive than .22LR,
- The gun itself is much more expensive than .22LR.

To the OP, welcome to the forum! Hope you enjoy it here.

Lkwinnipesaukee,

Welcome aboard!

I don't know about you, but when I was 16 I was scraping together pennies to feed my car. The nice thing about a 22 is you can feed it on pennies. Definitely a great place to start.

And lest you think we are saying "get a .22" because you are 16, search threads for "first gun" or such, and you'll see that is a nearly universal recommendation.