• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Inheritance???

I have searched the forums about inheritance but I can't find the specific answer I need. Any help would be appreciated. My issue; I'm a MA resident with an LTC and I was asked to hold onto four firearms for my friends family. My friend's grandmother died and had guns in her home from her son who also passed away(my buddy's uncle who had a license). No one now has a license so they want me to hold onto them until he returns from service or they decide to sell them to an FFL. Or if no one wants them I can have them. Can I just hold them indefinantly? If they decided to give them to me(free), can I just fill out an FA-10 and check registration? This is all in MA.

If they decided to give them to me(free), can I just fill out an FA-10 and check registration?

IIRC, you can do 4 per year if you have had no other F2F sales and they haven't either. Otherwise they would need to be transferred via a dealer.

IIRC, you can do 4 per year if you have had no other F2F sales and they haven't either. Otherwise they would need to be transferred via a dealer.

The 4 transfer limit is only on how many guns one can sell as a non-dealer. There's no restriction on how many guns you can buy from individuals.

Can I just hold them indefinantly? If they decided to give them to me(free), can I just fill out an FA-10 and check registration? This is all in MA.