Information Technology field

jhagberg88

NES Member
Rating - 100%
38   0   1
Does anyone here work in the IT field? I’m attending Salem State for IT and looking for any resources that you all think would be useful.

Jason

chrbla2000

NES Member
Rating - 100%
12   0   0
I work in IT. Asking for resources is kinda vague though, what kind of resources? IT Security? DevOps? Datacenter operations and support? It goes on and on... For what it's worth, I've been an IT 'Generalist' for about 24 years.

-chris

DarthRevan

Instructor
NES Member
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
None of the IT people here are particularly happy in their roles... most of the work is patching security updates and audits of our closed areas. If you like mind numbing repetitive work you’ll be happy. Maybe consider Comp. Engineeing?

drgrant

NES Member
Rating - 100%
59   0   0
None of the IT people here are particularly happy in their roles... most of the work is patching security updates and audits of our closed areas. If you like mind numbing repetitive work you’ll be happy. Maybe consider Comp. Engineeing?
Says who? [rofl] Lol every IT department is different, and the scope of work is different.

Then again, I will concede that if the OP knows how to write software, or do some systems engineering shit, DBA stuff (SQL) blah blah, he's going to make way more
money. The only gravy train shit (eg, 150K+ jobs) left in typical IT are some kinds of IT security jobs etc.

The guys that can write software though pretty much write their own paycheck- even in a shitty f***ing garbage down economy, programmers and app SW developers etc, are always in
demand.

-Mike

new guy

NES Member
Rating - 100%
58   0   0
Information security seems to be the place to be. One of our practices does incident response work and they're raking it in these days.

C. Stockwell

NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
IT is a very broad area. The "resources" OP probably has in mind are employment/internship ones.

Tinkermatic

NES Member