• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

inconsistent powder charge

Okay guys, bear with me on this one:

I'm setting up my first reloading press (Dillon 650) for the first time, to load .45ACP. I'm at the stage where I'm adjusting the powder measure. My first charge was 5.9 grains, exactly the suggested starting measurement for the cartridge I'm loading. The next one was 6.0, then 6.1, 6.2, 6.3, 6.1, 6.0, 6.2, etc, etc.

Is this kind on inconsistency normal? Like I said, this is my first time reloading, and I'm awfully paranoid. I know the various measurements are all within the specs for the cartridge (max load is 6.6 gr), but I'm still concerned with such a variation (4 grains within a 7 grain range).

Any idea how I can get this thing loading more consistently???

Be consistent with how you pull the handle up and down. That is important with any powder measure, even the super expensive culver benchrest types. Some powders drop better than others since it is getting dropped by volume. A .2 range is normal. It could shrink as you get more consistent. Also, when you are going for a target weight, find it by throwing 5-10 charges and taking the average. Don't stress it, many people load successfully for precision in rifle and pistol with those measures.

It may need some break-in as well. On www.nationalmatch.us forum there is a thread about polishing up the Dillon measures. I tried it on one of mine and it was easy. Look around on the www.brianenos.com forum too, tons of Dillon info there.