• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

IMI Uzi model B, should I?

I have the chance to buy a good condition (has definitely been a shooter but kept with everything original) uzi model b with the factory case, display barrel, and 3 mags for $1200. I almost impulse bought it but thought I'd sleep on it. First is this a good deal and is there anything I should look out for? I'm a complete Uzi noob but I have a few dollars to spend and looking for a new toy. I already have ak's, ar's, 308rem700, saiga12 and a bunch of pistols. Kind of looking for something different and fun and this jumped out at me. Thanks for any input.

Yes definitely get an UZI if it strikes your fancy. Great fun gun, I almost always bring mine to the range when I go. That seems like a good price for an IMI in good condition. Parts are cheap and readily available, even pre-ban mags (unissued).

I went through the exact same thing a few years back. I decided against it. Here's why....

The one I was looking at was more in the $1500 neighborhood. However it was flawless and had everything including. A .45 ACP conversion kit consisting of the barrel, bolt & 4 mags (which are very expensive & hard to come by in their own right). I thought it was a decent deal. The folks on here did not. Of course that was a few years back. But that's not why I didn't pull the trigger on it.

It is a very very cool piece to have in ones collection. If you got money to burn and you're looking for a cool toy then by all means go forward.

They do not have the greatest reputation for accuracy. Especially once the barrel starts to heat up. I very rarely range shoot. If I do go shoot, 90% of the time it's a match. The Uzi would quickly turn into a safe queen.

My thoughts on the SBR Uzi.-