I'm a MA resident: Questions about used rifle purchase...

A few questions on purchase of a used rifle in MA. I'm a MA resident with a Class A LTC. I have purchased handguns, but no rifles yet. Nowe, however, I'm looking to purchase a used Anschutz 54 22LR target rifle to begin target shooting. I know I could buy at a MA dealer, but this rifle is somewhat hard to find and I'd like to expand my search options in order to get a good one. So here are my questions:

1. Can I buy a used rifle from an online, out of state dealer and if so, would it have to go through a local MA dealer?

2. Can I drive to NH, VT or MA and buy one from a dealer there and just bring it back to MA?

3. Can I buy one from a private individual in another state, and if so would it have to go through a local MA dealer?

4. Anybody know any dealers in the Boston area who would carry such a rifle?

Thanks,
Mark

I don't know the answer to #1 off the top of my head, but if nobody else gives you an informed answer, I'll look it up and get back. Ditto with #4, though I'd check with Carl at Four Seasons Guns and/or Greg at A&G Guns. If they don't have what you want in stock, they'd be happy to order one for you.

The answer to #2 is yes. You can legally purchase a rifle or shotgun from a federally licensed dealer and bring it back to Massachusetts, with two caveats. First, make sure that it isn't a post-ban assault weapon under the silly Massachusetts AWB. (That's not a problem with the Anschutz to which you refer.) Second, file an FA-10 form for registration as soon as you get back with the rifle. You can get a copy of the form from your local police.

The answer to #3 is no. You can only purchase rifles and shotguns out-of-state from a federally licensed dealer.

Ken