Idiot's Guide to Building a 1911?

I've been looking for a .45, and thought "Why not build one?". I'm going to do some research, but figured I'd ask here, too.

Physically, I'm an appartment dweller, so I don't have a workshop, bench, nor too many tools (although, obviously, I can buy tools). Problem?

I'm an engineer, (although not of the mechanical kind) so I can follow directions, but I'm not especially mechanically inclined nor am I experienced in metalworking whatsoever. I'm not retarded, it's just not part of my present skillset. Problem?

I'm pretty new to handguns, and am not 100% sure how everything works. I can point out a slide vs. a receiver. I can identify an extractor vs a barrel. I probably could detail strip my Sig, and would have maybe a 50% chance to get it all back together. Problem?

I'm willing to invest 600-700$, including parts and tools. Problem?

I live in MA. Problem?

Is there an idiot's guide to this available on the internet? A book that I could order? A class I could take? Where should a reasonably intelligent but utterly ignorant appartment-dweller start? Should he not?

Buy and read Kuhnhausen's 1911 Vol. 1 shop manual. It's an exact how-to for almost everything on a 1911, and will let you pick out what you can already do, what you want to expand your skill set to do yourself, and what is worth paying a smith to do.

If at that point you think there's more that could be done to a 1911 - Volume 2!!

There's a mixture of hand tool fitting and machine work in a 1911. Some of that blends well with apartment living.

(I'm not sure where the cheapest source for Kuhnhausens manuals is now - I've had mine for years. Publishers site)

No problem in MA building a 1911... just don't sell it when you need cash.

Because then I'd be a manufacturer or gunsmith?

No, because kicking yourself gets reaaalllly tiring after a while. [wink]