• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

I want to try IDPA next weekend

There is a match in Pelham NH on Oct 11th. I have never done this before but it looks extremely interesting to me.
Is the standard procedure for a noob just to show up and watch the first time? Or should I bring a gun and ammo in case I get a chance to try it out?
Is any full size pistol or revolver OK? Obviously I'd want to try in a "stock" type category as I don't have a tricked out gun or the money to invest in one right now. I do have a few guns that I shoot well and would like to try out a competition with if they fit a category.
Thanks in advance for any answers.

use a standard out of the box medium/full size handgun with 3 mags and you'll be fine. Use a standard strong side holster that covers the trigger guard.
Explain you're a newbie at it. The strings go fast, it's easy to make mistakes, pay attention to how other shooters do it.
Pelham runs a good match and they stick to the rules.....I was hit with a technical for dropping an empty mag on a reload...

I believe they run safety & preliminaries at 8:30, match starts at 9am.

Wife's going to NYC for the weekend, if I had someone to watch the kids for a couple of hours, I'd be there. [thinking] gotta figure this out.

Shooting Gear for the New IDPA shooter

Equipment Overview

To start out at most IDPA matches, all that is needed is a safe handgun, three magazines or four speedloaders, two magazine pouches (or a one double magazine pouch) or three speedloader pouches. Add 100 rounds and some kind of carry bag (a drywall compound bucket is very handy) and you will be in good shape. Safety equipment needed is eye and ear protection: some inexpensive safety glasses and a set of muffs or ear plugs. You can expand on this and get some specialized equipment, but these basics will help you along for your first few matches.

Holsters