• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

How to introduce a family member to firearms?

shakti

NES Member
Hello friends at NES,

I am a relative newbie myself, only having less than a year of fire arms experience. However, I love it and my wife was a sport and went and got the LTC as well even though she is very much reluctant to use a firearm. She feels her hand is weak and she does not feel confident. I have tried to get her to the range but generally been unsuccessful.

However, my 21yr old daughter, who has been to the range with me and seen people shoot really does not want to have anything to do with firearms at all. She does not want to get an LTC even though I tell her that girls like her are the ones who will benefit the most from it.

So, I am looking for advice and ideas on how to get them to consider the idea of getting an LTC and going to the range.

Thank you

Self reliance isn’t for everybody. If you find that to be the case don’t push too hard or you’ll turn them away further. Start slow and educate with facts along the way. Maybe start your wife out on a smaller .22 revolver so it’s not such a kick in her hands as a full size defensive pistol.

I’d also suggest trying to get ‘whoever’ to a range at maybe the quietest times of the week. Bringing them in when it’s busy may be over stimulating and fearful being surrounded by strangers firing right next to you on both sides, indoors being even louder and sometimes feeling that percussion from the next stall. Find a quiet peaceful outdoor place, make it fun, bring a picnic lunch or something for the wife and just take it slow and deliberate.

As far as the daughter, she’s probably been hearing ‘guns bad’ her whole life in school so good luck with that. Depending on age and location she may be fully indoctrinated already.

Things that helped me help them: