• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

How many Mags is enough

My rule is at least 20 normal-capactiy mags per gun. I usually spend at least as much or more than the gun on magazines. That said, I have more :)

A full carry load is 7, per mil. So I would try to have 3 x full carry loads available per rifle. So 21. Again, per AR. So if you have three ARs, plan for 63 magazines. Not all have to be loaded at the same time (and I would actively discourage that so you can rotate magazines to help the springs relax.

Springs do not need to relax. What wears out springs is the number of compression and decompression cycles.

WOW..I guess I am just getting started. 4 30's and the 3 10's that it cam with is just the beginning I guess. Well I paid $30 a mag so I will be waiting for the hype to pass before I go buy many more, but after reading all these posts, I'll keep buying them when I can. If anyone needs more, Monument Beach Gun Show is on thru tomorrow (Sunday) The guy had two totes full today. I bartered with him, don't pay full asking price.

You can never have enough. Don't be shy when it comes to buying low-cap mags either. I think things like 1911 or Mark III mags that you don't worry about being banned right now could be scarce at some point. It's definitely better to be prepared. I could be wrong, but I think if Patrick gets his way we can only buy one a month.

I got 15 windowed FDE pmags.

All loaded with M855. I'd by more but ammo is more important right now, as is getting a scoped 308 bolt gun I like more and a shotgun that will shoot any size shotgun round (Benelli supernova).

have an extra gun in the same caliber, just in case you need to do a new york reload, i think i have around 40 30 round plus one 60 round surefire as the primary home mag